Silver City is the queen of Idaho ghost towns. And while she may be a ghost town during the winter months, in the summer a combinatioon of weekend visitors and local residents make for a busy community.
The town contains many old and interesting buildings in various stages of disrepait as well as several nearby mine dumps. The masonic building raises high above Jordan Creek, the upstairs of the old schoolhouse is a very interesting museum, and the once famous Idaho Hotel now stands forlorn. A few of the buildings, notably the Stoddard House, have ornate "gingerbread" trim, and some of the better houses now serve as summer cabins.
Silver City had the distinction of having the first telegraph service in Idaho. In 1874, a line was built north from Winnemucca, Nevada, and in 1875, the line was continued from Silver City on to Boise City.
Another first for Silver City was the printing of a daily newspaper. In 1874, The Idaho Avalanche, edited by W. J. Hill and considered one of the best papers in the West, became the first daily newspaper in Idaho Territory.
Silver City served as the county seat from 1867 until 1935, when it lost this honor to Murphy.
The picturesque Catholic church sits high on a rocky point in Silver City.